My Everyday Life, Reviews

#Review “Halloween” 2018 **Spoiler Alert**

Of all the horror movies characters created since the dawn of time, Michael Myers has always been my favorite. So much so that when I got married, it was on Halloween.

When I heard that they were making a NEW Halloween I was super excited. But then, I heard a lot of bad things about it. So many mixed feelings from friends made me decide that I wasn’t going to waste my money seeing it in the theater because if I didn’t like it, I knew I would walk out (I did it during the remake of “It” which is my second favorite horror film… well the original was).

When I see it was available On Demand for the cost of $5.99 (less than one ticket at the theater) I figured it was time to finally watch it. Even though I wasn’t sure I would be able to get over the fact that Laurie Strode was NOT his sister in this movie.

So we busted out the snack platter and turned it on! **Fingers Crossed**

It didn’t take very long for me to be able to process this as an “alternative path” to Halloween and not just erasing all the sequels to the 1978 movie. Which made it much easier for me to watch & I am very glad that I was capable of doing that because it made the movie very enjoyable. It’s basically a slasher love story. Michael waited 40 years to get to Laurie, and Laurie waited 40 years for him to come. They both dedicated their lives to each other (Which isn’t much different than the original alternative storyline).

Throughout the movie you can pick up bits and pieces of the original story line if you pay enough attention. But overall it is a completely different story.

There were several times that my adrenaline started pumping, where I started rooting for his victims to get away, like the boy that walked home from the dance with Allyson. But my favorite part of the movie came at 1:22 when Michael made it to Laurie’s “compound”. I was stoked with her set up! The cameras, the barricaded door, the gun cabinet & the way she had the rooms rigged so that after she cleared them the gates closed was nothing short of pure genius. Her under ground bunker set and ready to go for Michaels return. My heart pumped harder with every corner she turned.

The last 15 minutes of the movie or so I sat on the edge of my seat waiting to see who would win the cat and mouse of four decades.

My heart pounded out of my chest when he found the access panel to the bunker and I truly though that Karen didn’t have what it took to get the job done. I thought they were done for; but I totally underestimated Laurie’s dedication and the strength of Allyson.

“It’s not a cage baby, it’s a trap”

We stared down at Michael through the slots of the “cage” and he gave off that, “you won” vibe and my heart kind of broke for him.

As I watched the house go up in flames, Im not gonna lie, I hoped that we would see Michael walk out the front door to fight another day; but we didn’t.

Will there be a second movie to this alternative story line? Is it possible that Michael made it out of Laurie’s trap? I highly doubt that he could, especially at his age now. But that’s the funny thing with storylines… you can make them up as you go. Only time will tell!

Overall, I’m giving it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ and that’s only because I didn’t like the doctor and the way he killed Sheriff Hawkins. No one can ever replace Loomis, alternative storyline or not!

Leave a comment