Food!, My Everyday Life

Piss Poor Food For Four. Day 2.

The weekend has once again come and gone and you know what that means; Monday Morning Blues!

I don’t know how it works in most houses but in ours, no one wants to wake up on time (and I don’t blame them, I don’t want to get up either). Which means breakfast needs to be something filling and fast.

Our older daughter makes herself breakfast before school, which makes it easier for me because it gives me time to straighten up before the little boy I babysit arrives for the day.

She had waffles for breakfast, which happened to be on sale last week; 3 boxes/$6= $0.20 a waffle. Making her breakfast cost total $0.60! (For that I don’t have a picture but I’m sure you all know what waffles with some syrup looks like)

The little one ate oatmeal w/ an apple cinnamon drizzle. I’m not gonna lie this is by far the CHEAPEST meal I have ever made!

If you have never heard of penny sales, NOW is the time to look them up. The box of oatmeal, which contains 3 packets was just a penny! We mixed two of them and then topped it with the drizzle which we got for FREE when they were handing out samples at Six Flags Great Adventure … we actually got 10 of them for FREE.

Since dividing up a penny for serving sizes just seems silly, I’m not going to do that.

Oatmeal: $0.01

Drizzle: FREE

Total cost of breakfast (for 2) : $0.61 and you can’t beat that!!

Lunch was super easy, since the kids are in school they eat there, they have reduced lunch so it costs $0.50 per child.

The baby and I had fish sticks and Mac & Cheese for lunch. They were on sale at Shop-Rite, 105 fish sticks for $10.99 making them $0.10 a piece and I already had the Mac & cheese (but if I had to buy it, that’s a $1) our lunch a total of $2.50 + we have left overs!

School Lunch: $1.00

Fish Sticks: $1.50

Mac & Cheese: $1.00

For a total of: $3.50 (or $0.88 per person)

It’s been a long day & Everyone needs a snack after school! Today we had Snack Pack Banana Creme Pie Pudding, there is 4 in a pack & 4 of us!

Pudding: $1.00= $0.25 per person

For dinner I decided I would go with a super simple but flavorful dish. Potatoes, Eggs & Onions. You can get a copy of the recipe here. Stop & Shop has a pretty decent deal BOGO deal going on for Potatoes and Onions. So I picked up 10 lbs. of potatoes for $3.99 and 8 lbs of onions for $3.99. Both of these will go a long way for a good cost so I couldn’t pass that up. I didn’t follow the recipe by the way.

Eggs: $1.20 for 8

Potatoes: $0.80 for 2lbs (estimated)

Onions: 1 (we will say is $0.50 even though I doubt 1 onion weighs a pound)

Making Dinners total cost: $2.50 or $0.75 per person!!!

Our full day cost of food was $7.61; or $1.90 per person.

Now that is a successfully cheap and fulfilling day!

3 thoughts on “Piss Poor Food For Four. Day 2.”

Leave a comment