Uncategorized

Super Bowl 52

As I hide in my room (secretly stuffing my face with Oreos so the kids don’t ask for any because that what moms do) and work on this new blog I can hear my husband on his Live periscope feed doing a play by play of the Eagles winning the Super Bowl. The Scaper house is NY Giants, even though Lance is the only know that gives a damn about sports.Now don’t get me wrong, We went to my aunts house to watch the beginning half of the Super Bowl and I had a lot of fun, not because of the football but because of the company. Being able to laugh is the one of the truest riches of life and my family sure knows how to make you laugh!

But the football game itself? I couldn’t get into it. I rooted for the Patriots only for the simple fact that my late grandmother was a diehard Patriots fan. The halftime show by Justin Timberlake was “meh” to say the least, where was the excitement?! The halftime show is supposed to be upbeat to keep the fan base from falling asleep isn’t it? Maybe that’s just me 🤗

So, the Super Bowl got me thinking, how can anyone enjoy this? A bunch of oversized men running up and down a field with a ball. I need story lines in my life and if there is nothing football does to have a damn storyline.

All the greatest shows in the history of television have a killer story line. Some of my favorites; just to name a few: Lost, Stranger Things, Dexter, As the world turns! (Ha! All of them are off air, maybe I was the only one that thought they were good?)

So what is it that makes the Super Bowl such a big event? Why do people enjoy watching it?

I’d much rather be doing exactly what I am right now. Working on my blog & snacking as I listen to Erin Brockovich on HBO Go. But to each their own right?

To all those rooting for the Eagles tonight, Congratulations to you. For the Patriots fans, I was cheering (silently) for you.

Leave a comment